Development Permits

The District establishes Development Permit Areas and guidelines to control the quality of the built environment within Ucluelet.

Nine Development Permit Areas have been designated in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act, RSBC 1996. Development Permit Area Guidelines specify the District's objectives and regulations for each area. All developments within a designated Development Permit Area require a Development Permit to be issued by District Council.

  1. Village Square
  2. Imperial Lane
  3. Reef Point
  4. Hyphocus Island
  5. DL 281
  6. Inner Boat Basin
  7. Peninsula Road
  8. Former Reserve Lands
  9. Multi-Family Residential

For Development Permit Area Regulations and Exemptions, see page 82 and 83 of the 2011 Official Community Plan.

Development Cost Charges Bylaw   Development Application   Development Checklist

Development Permit Areas   2011 OCP Maps  District of Ucluelet Development Approval Procedures Bylaw No.1164, 2015

Proposed New Development Permit Areas

The 2018 Official Community Plan (Draft) proposes new development permit areas to maintain the character of Ucluelet, to provide environmental protections and to protect developments from hazardous conditions such as flood or coastal erosion.

Form and Character Development Permit Areas (Schedule F)

  • Village Square (DPA I)
  • Peninsula Road (DPA II)
  • Industrial (DPA III)
  • Multi-family, Commercial & Mixed Use (DPA IV)

Environmental Development Permit Areas (Schedule E)

  • Terrestrial (Mature Forest) (DPA V)
  • Streams and Riparian Areas (DPA VI)
  • Marine Shorelinesl (DPA VII)
  • Multi-family, Commercial & Mixed Use (DPA IV)

Hazardous Conditions Development Permit Areas (Schedule G)

  • Coastal Protection (DPA VIII)
  • Steep Slopes (DPA IX)

2018 Draft OCP Schedule A-D Maps   2018 Draft OCP Schedule E-G Maps